Since its inception The Community Foundation of Harrisonburg & Rockingham County has depended upon the vision and commitment of the many men and women who have believed in our mission and supported our work. We are thankful to all who have given of their time to The Community Foundation.


Some individuals have given extraordinary service to The Community Foundation over the years, offering their time, talents and professional expertise on our behalf. We gratefully acknowledge the following founders, former directors and officers by naming each of them “Director Emeritus.”

  • Wayne Alley   Committee Chair, 1999-2010
  • Ellen Brodersen    President, 2005 – 2010; Treasurer, 2013 – present
  • David Driver    Committee Chair, 2001 – 2016
  • Kathleen Graves    Secretary, 2008 – 2012; Committee Chair, 2011 – 2014
  • Lawrence H. Hoover, Jr.    Founder
  • Andrew M. Huggins    Founder
  • Betty B. Martin    Secretary, 1998-2008
  • Amy L. Rush      Volunteer Accountant, 2006 – 2008; Board member, 2009 – present
  • Phillip C. Stone, Jr.    Founder
  • John Vincie    Founder