Back Row left to right: Revlan S. Hill (Executive Director), Toni Bentel Bailey, Laura Toni-Holsinger, Kevin Flint, Steve Gordon (Past Chair), Dale Hulvey, Jeffrey R. Adams, Stephen M. Cavanaugh, Daniel O. Uribe
Front Row left to right: Ellen H. Brodersen (Treasurer), Stephanne Strickler Byrd (Chair), Joseph S. Paxton (Vice Chair), Donna Harper (Secretary)
Not pictured: Jason Fink, Kay Harrison, Cynthia Prieto, Billy R. Robinson, Brian Shull, Daphyne Saunders Thomas

The Community Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of individuals who are community leaders in Harrisonburg and Rockingham County. Members of the board are chosen for their knowledge of the community’s charitable, civic and educational needs. Directors serve for three-year terms and bring to the board their expertise in finance, investment, law, nonprofits, education, local government, public relations, and a deep commitment to our community.

Jeffrey R. Adams, J.D.


Wharton Aldhizer & Weaver, PLC

Ellen H. Brodersen

Certified Public Accountant

Clark & Bradshaw, P.C.

Donna Harper

Vice President for Access & Enrollment Management

James Madison University

Dale B. Hulvey

CIO - AVP for Information Technology

James Madison University

Joseph S. Paxton

Retired, County Administrator

Rockingham County

Brian B. Shull

Economic Development Director

City of Harrisonburg

Laura Toni-Holsinger

Executive Director

United Way of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County

Kay Harrison


GraceWorks Organizing

Toni Bentel Bailey

Independent Marketing & Advertising Advisor

Self Employed

Stephanne Strickler Byrd

Organizational Advisor & Community Volunteer

Former Executive Director, The Community Foundation

Jason Fink

Professor, Finance; Wachovia Securities Faculty Fellow

James Madison University

Billy R. Robinson, CPA, CCIFP


Brown, Edwards & Company, L.L.P.

Daphyne Saunders Thomas

Professor, Finance & Business Law; Adolph Coors Professorship, Business Administration

James Madison University

Daniel Uribe

Wealth Advisor | Managing Partner

Good Wealth Management

Kevin Flint

Vice President, Commercial Banking


Cynthia Prieto


Harrisonburg High School

Have questions for The Community Foundation?

Latest News

Great Community Give Is On Its Way!

The Great Community Give is on its way! This event is the first…

SOS Foundation Awards First Scholarship Grants

It was a special night to remember and rejoice when SOS Foundation…

Important 2017 Dates & Deadlines

Important Year – End Deadlines Wednesday, December 27 –…

Friendship Industries Endowment Fund

  Friendship Industries is a business with a social…


The offices of The Community Foundation will be closed Monday,…

Early Ace Scholarships Awarded

The Early Ace Scholarship Fund was established to support students…